Another Fresh Start

It’s wonderful to be writing again. I have written a lot of things over the course of the last several months but they’re for work and it feels good to just type away without worrying about a deadline. I apologize if you’re reading this and you’re after quality writing. I’m not saying that I’m throwing caution to the wind and this will be nothing more than a rant. Don’t worry, I always do my best and I’ll probably write something that might blow your mind away. We’ll see. Let’s start, shall we?

“And no one puts new wine into old wineskins. For the old skins would burst from the pressure, spilling the wine and ruining the skins. New wine is stored in new wineskins so that both are preserved.” – Matthew 9:17 NLT

God has been doing a lot of new things in my life recently. It’s no surprise. God is a God of the new. Every day, His mercies are new. Unfortunately, some of us, I included, are stuck in the past. It’s not always a particular memory like a failed relationship or missed opportunity. Sometimes it can be as simple as refusing to adapt to what God is bringing you into. I have been more conscious of what I wear the past few months and I usually ask friends who know a lot about dressing up to help me better my wardrobe. What I learned from this experience is that you can’t improve your outward appearance without having the right mindset and perspective. I could easily go back to being my casual self who doesn’t care if he wears t-shirts and jeans every single day. But that doesn’t fit into where God is taking me. I have to adjust so that I can embrace the change.

It’s sad that I messed up the timing of my promotion. I will eventually get there only because God’s grace is so abundant that even I can’t make things worse for myself. What’s even more wonderful is the fact that He doesn’t keep score. That disappointment that you feel is yours alone because God still hopes that the best you will eventually show. I’ve lost count of the number of fresh starts He’s given me. For that, I am eternally grateful.

Let a new leaf be turned.

Leave a Reply

