Transformers: Age Of Extinction (Review)

transformers4_teaserposter_560Well, well, well! I’m back, guys and girls! I apologize for the unplanned hiatus but there’s just been a lot going on and I haven’t found time to type my thoughts onto this online diary of sorts. But worry not because I’ll make this new entry worth your while.

About this time last week, me and the other guys from our Ortigas Life Group watched the latest installment of the movie franchise based on Hasbro’s best-selling toy line. Yes, Optimus Prime, Bumble Bee, and the rest of the Autobots return to the big screen for the longest Transformers film yet. Two and a half hours of metal, explosions, and slow-motion sequences brought to us by none other than Michael Bay (Armageddon, Pearl Harbor). While Transformers: Dark Of The Moon saw the departure of Megan Fox (Jennifer’s Body, Jonah Hex), this time around it’s Shia LaBeouf  (Eagle Eye, Wall Street: Money Never Sleeps) who gets replaced by Mark Wahlberg (Shooter, Max Payne). Wahlberg doesn’t play Sam Witwicky though but Cade Yeager, a struggling inventor whose life is further complicated by the discovery of an old truck who turns out to be (You guessed it!) Optimus Prime, leader of the Autobots.

Personally, I was a bit drained after watching it. Don’t get me wrong, it was a great movie. But I couldn’t bear watching it again for what it’s worth. If I somehow get my hands on the DVD when it comes out, I’ll probably be skipping some parts. Okay, enough of that. Let me give you a few reasons why you should watch it.

1. Dinobots
Honestly, this is what drew me to want to watch the film. Grimlock and company are some of my favorite Transformers and seeing them in the movie adaptation just brought back some fond memories of when they were first introduced in the animated series. While I’m disappointed to see them without any yellow in them and without Snarl (Stegosaurus) in their ranks, their presence definitely made the experience unique.

2. Quotable Quotes
I don’t want to spoil anything so head to the theaters if you wish to hear what Cade and company said. I especially love Mr. Yeager’s quote in the middle of the film when the Autobots were hesitant about helping their human friend.

3. Prelude To The Sequel
Yes, Transformers fans, there will be a fifth movie. I’m skeptical that Mark Wahlberg will be starring in the next film, though. I wish I could tell you more but I’d be spoiling it for those who haven’t made their way to a cinema and sat through almost three hours of Michael Bay theatrics.

Since this is technically a review, I’m going to give the movie a rating of 3 out of 5 stars which is good as far as my film standards are concerned. Watch out for my X-Men: Days of Future Past review which has spoilers because it’s long been overdue.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. CMrok93 says:

    Good review. Had some fun with this. However, it’s three hours and it totally didn’t need to be.

    1. ejdelosreyes says:

      I agree. Less is more and they did too much stuff on this installment. I hope the next one is better in this regard.

Leave a Reply

