Worked Up

“So much to do! So little time!”

Clearly, I was frustrated. A dear friend is in town, a traveling teacher, and he came by to visit. While I’m glad to see him, I wish he would have sent word that he was coming. That would have saved me a lot of trouble especially since he had the audacity to bring several of his friends with him. I could have risen earlier and prepared a proper meal for all of them. Instead, I’m scrambling away in the kitchen trying to cook something from what we have in the pantry. I really wish he told me he was coming.

“It’s fine. I’ll finish everything and then we can catch up with our visitor.”

That’s what I tell myself as I pull the bread out of the oven. There’s still fish to be cooked and wine to be poured. I’ll deal with the dishes later when everyone’s gone. This sure is a hassle. I don’t think I can handle more drop-by’s like this. Maybe if I had help. But no, my sister is already ‘busy’ with our guest. Look at her! She’s just sitting there listening to our friend’s stories. I wonder what he’s telling her. He travels a lot so it must be quite an adventure. I want to hear them myself. But there’s still stuff to do!

“Hey! Mary should be helping me! Once the work is done, then we can both spend the remaining time with our visitor.”

I interrupt the teacher from his storytelling and tell my sister to join me in the kitchen. She was about to get up and go with me when our guest said something that I will never forget,

“Martha, dear Martha, you’re fussing far too much and getting yourself worked up over nothing. One thing only is essential, and Mary has chosen it—it’s the main course, and won’t be taken from her.” – Luke 10:41-42 MSG

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Debbie M. says:

    I tend to be a Martha wanting to set the right ambience. Jesus has already done so, enabling me to simply enjoy His company!

    1. ejdelosreyes says:

      Thank you for your comment! It’s funny how people want to set the mood when God is already present about to do something amazing. 🙂

  2. Doctor Eamer says:

    Ang cool ng connection. 🙂

    1. ejdelosreyes says:

      I’m glad you think it’s cool. 🙂

  3. mari anjeli says:

    Nice retelling. 😀 At first I thought it was a recent event in your life. But then again…

    1. ejdelosreyes says:

      Thank you for your comment! All truths are parallel. It is a retelling of my story, too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

