Mom, I’m In A Magazine!

Some of you have heard that I recently contributed an article for a popular local magazine. In their September 2015 issue, Chalk Magazine featured my piece on same-sex marriage legalization in the United States. Here is my article in full reposted with their permission.


Break The Silence

When a friend asked me to write about my opinions on the issue of same-sex marriage being legalized in the United States, I initially wanted to decline. I was hesitant because of what might happen once the article gets published. I have friends who are gay or lesbian and I wondered if I could say the things I’m about to type directly to their face. I almost backed out because I was afraid of people might say. In the end, I realized that I have a message to get across because Someone up there wants to be heard, too.

The legalization of same-sex marriages in the US did not surprise me. You could sense that it was coming – that it was only a matter of time before it happened. After it was announced, truth be told, there were no new converts to the LGBT Community. People didn’t start becoming gay or lesbian just because the law made same-sex couples legal. I believe the Philippines could follow suit in the future. I hope not.

You see – I do not support same-sex marriages. I believe marriage should only be between a man and a woman. God created Adam and Eve and officiated the first marriage so that the earth can be populated with people. That wouldn’t be possible if He made Adam and Steve instead. It isn’t good for man to be alone and God created a suitable partner for him, a woman. This is His design for marriage. So what happens when you don’t follow the prescribed pattern?

In 1 Corinthians 6:10, Paul wrote that unrighteous people won’t inherit the kingdom of God and he mentions homosexuals as one of them. Now, here is where I need to clarify things. As a Christian, I might be against homosexuality but I love homosexuals. Jesus spent some of His time with drunkards and prostitutes but He did not tolerate their sin. The problem with the Church is the inconsistency in its response. Some have become judgmental while others have been tolerant. For this, I must apologize on behalf of my brothers and sisters. We didn’t mean to confuse you about where we stand.

If there’s anything I want members of the LGBT community to get out of this, it is the simple fact that God loves them. He knows everything about you and He has a plan for your life. In fact, He loves you so much to just allow you to remain where you are. That’s how I feel, too. While I probably won’t attend a wedding between same-sex couples, that doesn’t mean I can’t hang out with my friends who are homosexuals. I can be happy for you when you experience success at work but don’t expect me to rejoice if you choose to post something on Facebook about you and your partner of the same sex. I’m sorry but I really can’t.

While I was writing this piece, I was very careful with how I phrased things because I didn’t want to offend anyone. The last thing I want to do is to push homosexuals away. However, the more I thought about it, the more I understood that it is highly improbable that I will survive this writing’s publishing without raising a few eyebrows. I won’t blame you if you hate me for this. But, just to be clear, I don’t hate you. I love you and that’s what Jesus would do, too.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Hooray for today! Good job. Glory to God 🙂

    1. ejdelosreyes says:

      Thank you! Praise Jesus indeed! He’s awesome in my life! 🙂

  2. Pa-autograph na dude. LOL.

Leave a Reply

