Hope Deferred

overdrive
Silent Sanctuary and Spongecola were no-show’s

12 Unrelenting disappointment leaves you heartsick,
    but a sudden good break can turn life around. – Proverbs 13:12 MSG

Last night, I chose to attend Overdrive, a night at the UP Fair hosted by the UP GE Club. I came from the RTU Life Train and arrived on campus at around 10:30pm. What greeted me at the Sunken Garden is a long line of patrons wanting to enter the grounds. However, the line stretched from the fair’s entrance to the College of Education. Fortunately, several church friends were already waiting in line and they allowed me to sneak in with them. They told me that they’ve been waiting to get in since 9:30pm and we finally went inside at around 11:00pm.

Of course, the first thing I looked for was food. I haven’t had dinner yet and it was already close to midnight. I was saddened by the lack of good choices in this regard. Because I couldn’t hold on any longer, I ordered a burger which I gobbled up while walking back to where the rest of us stayed. Ignoring my stomach’s cries for more, I hung out with the others and we compared how things were handled that night as opposed to how we did two years ago. By the way, let me just say that we were able to converse well because the music was not loud enough to bother us. Actually, when I stopped at Central, I wondered why I couldn’t hear anything from the concert. During the course of the evening, the artists experienced several technical difficulties, too.

The thing that really bugged me was Silent Sanctuary not showing up. It would have been my first time to see them live and they didn’t deliver on their end. Their Facebook page mentions something about unforeseen circumstances but we have insider information that they walked out because Up Dharma Down went ahead of schedule. Yael Yuzon’s band, Sponge Cola, also left their fans hanging. Cueshe ended up being the last performers of the night and they did five songs instead of only three. Afterwards, the hosts tried their best to deliver the news. Upon hearing that the two bands will no longer be performing, there was no riot. But you could feel the disappointment of everyone especially those who have been waiting for them. I wish I knew what really happened. I sent a tweet to Silent Sanctuary asking for the real score but they haven’t replied yet. Things could have been handled differently, though, because the biggest losers are not them but the people. I realize that I have been in a culture that always puts people first and when it doesn’t happen, I cannot stay silent. No pun intended.

Anyway, I miss KontraKultura and I hope we do it again soon. Another qualm I have about the fair is the emptiness of the music. Yes, there are catchy songs and you will still be able to groove or bang your head to some tunes. But beyond the night, there is no lasting effect. What we do at Students of Destiny and Destiny Church – Manila is create an atmosphere wherein people can have a good time but also take home faith, hope, and love. We don’t want to just have a night filled with memories. We want people to experience God outside any religious institution and bring them to a point where they will want more.

The night is already over and I’m not sure what Overdrive’s fate will be after the fiasco that happened. What I know is that there is a greater destiny waiting for my beloved university.

 

Leave a Reply

