Movie Review: Batman v Superman (Dawn of Justice) *Spoilers Alert!*

batmanvsuperman
The Trinity of DC

As of this writing, the mass of moviegoers are split over whether BvS is good or not. While I liked some of the things they did in the film, I’m more inclined to label the movie as a disappointment. But, if you have been reading my reviews for quite some time now, you would know that I never focus on the negative aspects of the pictures I watch. However, it would be unfair if I didn’t give Zack Snyder feedback about what he could improve on especially with the Justice League movies on the horizon. Please do note that I am not a reader of DC Comics so I apologize in advance to die-hard fans of the publication for possibly hitting a few nerves. Anyway, here are my thoughts on Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice.

1.) Cool Title

There are some people who didn’t notice that the name of the film alludes to the Dark Knight making a case against the Man of Steel as in a court of law. Also, the ‘Dawn of Justice’ tagline while supporting that references the future of the franchise which is the banding together of these big heroes to fight against a common enemy.

2.) The Darkseid of the Force

The set-up in this movie is pretty obvious. Darkseid, the baddest villain in the DC Universe in my opinion, will be the main antagonist in the subsequent Justice League films. Bruce Wayne’s dream sequence is particularly explicit in conveying this message even without the appearance of the evil supervillain.

3.) Who are the Meta-Humans?

It’s a joke! We all know who will be fighting alongside Superman, Batman, and Wonder Woman pretty soon. Aquaman, Cyborg, and Flash were featured shortly as Diana Prince browsed through the hacked files from LexCorp. I was expecting some kind of reveal but I laughed when I saw the logos! Are you telling me that the heroes we’re supposed to care about got their identity from Alexander Luthor? I think that was done a bit lousily.

4.) Detective Batman

From what I’ve heard, our favorite Caped Crusader is supposed to be done differently to set him apart from the portrayals of Christian Bale, Michael Keaton, and the others. They said they’re going to bring out the sleuth in the character much like the one we all loved in Batman: The Animated Series. However, the movie painted an incomplete picture as it was Bruce Wayne who spied on Luthor, not his Batman persona. He didn’t even want to do it as Bruce Wayne so why did they do it?! Of course, you can argue that they needed Bruce to meet Clark Kent. Surely, they’d have thought of something else for that.

5.) Action!

Batman clearly had the best fight scene in the movie as he single-handedly beat Luthor’s henchmen. It looked like something you’ll see while playing Batman: Arkham Knight. My only caveat is that the Dark Knight killed people. Yes, they were criminals. But the Bat of Gotham is not. Although, events in the past could have driven into that darker road. Also, I agree that Wonder Woman’s intervention could’ve been saved for the film itself instead of revealing it in the trailer. But it was awesome to see it again on the big screen.

6.) Playing the Part

Ensemble casts are usually worrisome because there are a few directors who can spread the love around. What commonly takes place is that a couple of actors get focused on while the others are delegated to supporting roles. While that is exactly what happened with BvS, everyone did great in portraying their character. Well, I guess you could make an exception for Jesse Eisenberg. I didn’t really think much of his performance. If Eisenberg jeopardized the movie’s success, you could also say that Ben Affleck is the saving grace for the film. A lot of people were skeptical when he was cast and Snyder even suggested that he avoid going on social media for a while. But there’s no doubt that the former Daredevil is back in the comic book readers’ good graces. Jeremy Irons did great as Alfred Pennyworth while Kevin Costner and Diane Lane’s appearances were noteworthy. I’m also glad that Lois Lane maintains her feistiness instead of being a simple damsel in distress.

7.) Easter Eggs

Ironically, we watched the movie on an Easter Sunday and every film fanatic is thrilled to find easter eggs especially in the advent of comic book movies. I already mentioned Darkseid and the other Justice League members. However, there are other things that we can pick up from all the imagery of Dawn of Justice. One such example is the possibility of Brainiac. He’s another villain of the JLA and Luthor’s hacking of General Zod’s spaceship could be a precursor to his introduction into the cinematic universe. We’ll have to wait and see if it all pans out. Clark Kent’s editor, Perry White, also made an interesting remark when he said, ‘It’s not 1938 anymore!’ That was the year when Superman first came out in the comics. There are others but there would be no thrill to the hunt if I spoil everything for you.

8.) You’re doomed!

Don’t get me wrong, I’m excited to see Darkseid in DC’s Cinematic Universe. But I dislike how things ended with Doomsday. It’s unclear if we’ll see the monster again given that his screen time is very limited. I mean, it killed Superman! It’s like The Amazing Spider-Man 2 and Electro all over again.

9.) Gal Gadot

I loved the actress ever since she appeared in the Fast and the Furious movies. There were criticisms about her costume, her race, and even her figure but I think she is wonderful especially in Bruce’s espionage sequence. I worry about her chemistry with Chris Pine in the upcoming Wonder Woman solo movie. I’m going to withhold judgment until the trailers come out.

10.) ‘Do we need a Superman?’

This is one of, if not, the best dialogues in the movie. Senator Finch, played by Holly Hunter, is being interview on a television show about Superman and the alleged crimes he committed. During its course, the host asks, ‘Do we need a Superman?’ which is a brilliant way to make the viewers think. More specifically, it prompts us to ponder on mankind’s need of a Saviour. After all, they make a valid point that gods make humans inferior. But for me, it’s a good shrinking feeling. So my answer would be a resounding, ‘Yes!’

I am rating Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice three stars out of five. What about you? Do you have anything you want to say about the film or how I reviewed it? Please don’t hesitate to post a comment below. Hail, Marvel!

Leave a Reply

