Movie Review: Finding Dory *Spoilers Alert!*

Finding Dory.jpg
After 13 years, Pixar finally remembered to make a sequel.

I chose this particular poster for the very reason that, in a few years’ time, you probably won’t remember this adventure, too.

From what I’ve heard, Ellen DeGeneres seriously campaigned to have this movie made. I have no objections with that idea. But it might have been a case of ‘too little, too late’. Don’t get me wrong, it’s a good film. However, I’ve seen Pixar churn out brilliant masterpieces such as Wall-E and the more recent Inside Out to settle for only good films.

Finding Dory follows the events of Finding Nemo. Contrary to what some people expect, it is not her who needs to be found. Rather, she is the one in search of her parents. I love the flashbacks although I don’t see why Dory’s long-term memory also failed her. Why did she forget that she had parents?

Anyway, I want to focus on the positive aspects of the movie. Disney and Pixar still know how to create well-made family-friendly films. It brings a few of the old cast back while introducing new characters such as Hank the Octopus or Destiny the Whale. The former steals the show for me, though. He was inserted into the line-up as additional comic relief but I believe moviegoers would love to see more of the octopus with seven tentacles.

The plot follows a similar structure to its predecessor. The flashbacks, though, are what sets it apart from the previous film. It seems studios have noticed that their audience can’t resist characters in their baby forms. That includes me, mind you.

But my greatest takeaway from the movie is that the road to finding yourself is the road back home.

Leave a Reply

