Vision That Keeps You Going

Vision That Keeps Me Going
Stories that come to life are the best!

The world is ruled by visionaries. Those who have the imagination to recreate the world are the ones who shape it. Seeing precedes seizing and that is what our pastor talked about last Sunday in Destiny Church – Manila’s afternoon worship services – the power of vision. If you think that it’s the same as wishing for things to happen, think again. True dreamers are those who spend their waking hours fulfilling their dreams.

To apply what we learned, Ps Carlo Panlilio asked us to write the vision that keeps us going and post it on social media. If this is going on the internet, I might as well blog about it. What motivates me to wake up every morning?

1.) To be an author/journalist for Destiny Publications.

Growing up, I’ve always been fond of reading. I had toys that I enjoyed playing with. But the pleasure of cradling a book in your hands was more enjoyable to my young, inquisitive mind. My father was an OFW and my mother wasn’t really the tutoring type so I had to resort to self-study for a large chunk of my education. I read all kinds of books and the day I devoured my first novel was Day One of my dream to be a writer. These literary giants educated and entertained me through my entire childhood and I’d be a jerk if I don’t continue that legacy.

I already have an article published on Chalk Magazine but that’s just a small step towards the bigger goal of establishing a publishing company that produces quality reading material. This actually scares me because I have to go back to school and finish my degree in Journalism. But you know what they say, if your dream doesn’t scare you, then it’s not big enough. I can’t wait to publish my first novel!

2.) To lead thousands of people in worship with songs that God has given me.

I just got my own guitar a few months ago. Aside from being able to practice regularly with it, what God really impressed upon me was, ‘You don’t have an excuse anymore.’ I’ve been justifying my lack of effort in songwriting with the fact that I don’t have my own musical instrument. The Lord was no longer having that and He made a way for me to acquire something equivalent to David’s harp.

3.) To pastor my generation and succeeding generations.

High school was when I got saved. However, it was during college that I really started living for Jesus. It helps that there are people who care about your walk with the Lord. The church has really been a great support especially when I started living apart from my family. I don’t know what would’ve happened to me if God had not used my pastors and leaders to rescue me from a direction-less existence. If I was distracted back then, imagine the inner turmoil kids today face daily. The internet alone is enough to keep everyone preoccupied. That’s why we need to make disciples of all nations. The lost needs to be found!

4.) To marry the woman of my dreams and build a Godly family.

Through the years, I’ve been an observer to how Kuya Carlo and Ate Zha managed their family. I’ve seen how they raise their kids. I’ve spent time with them at their home. I admire how Kuya loves and leads his wife and children. Before, I wanted to have a girlfriend so that I wouldn’t be alone. The desire might be warranted but it’s also selfish. Men are meant to conquer. The Lord gave Eve to Adam to be a suitable helper. She did not exist to entertain but to help him enter the destiny God has placed in his heart.

Habakkuk 2:2-3 reads,

2-3 And then God answered: “Write this.
Write what you see.
Write it out in big block letters
so that it can be read on the run.
This vision-message is a witness
pointing to what’s coming.
It aches for the coming—it can hardly wait!
And it doesn’t lie.
If it seems slow in coming, wait.
It’s on its way. It will come right on time.
Admittedly, these things seem impossible looking at where I am right now. But I know God is able to surpass even my wildest hopes and fondest dreams.
12 Comments Add yours

  1. mari anjeli says:

    Go, Kuya! I support you in number 4! Ahahaha

    1. ejdelosreyes says:

      Hala…bakit number 4 lang? –,

      But thank you! 🙂

      1. mari anjeli says:

        Hahaha, I support you sa lahat and especially sa number 4! 😀

      2. ejdelosreyes says:

        Yan! Mas okay yan. 😉 #FistBump

  2. prejprestosa says:

    Kuyaaaa. I have a proposition for you. Re: number 1.😊

    1. ejdelosreyes says:

      What do you propose? 🙂

      1. prejprestosa says:

        I have been thinking about this for a week now, but honestly, i haven’t asked for a word. Anyway, i observed that there are lots of talented writers in the church, and so i wanted to create a unified blog that will be an avenue for people to share their stories, testimonies, revelations, etc. (Of course, the goal will always be evangelistic). Kasi we don’t really have that in church, right?

      2. ejdelosreyes says:

        That’s a great idea! Parang hellogiggles and the like. You can text me pala sa number ko. 09152091298. 🙂

      3. prejprestosa says:

        Noted, kuya. Let’s pray about this!!

  3. prejprestosa says:

    I envision it as a blog na go-to talaga ng mga tao especially filipinos.

  4. Anne says:

    Do you think someone lost his vision if he is experiencing depression?

    1. ejdelosreyes says:

      It’s possible. But I think people who lost their vision would be more apathetic than depressed.

Leave a Reply

