Movie Review: Memento *Spoiler-Free*

Memento
If we can’t make memories, we can’t heal. – Leonard Shelby

I’ve heard so much about this movie before I was finally able to see it. I thought I knew what I was getting into but I was completely wrong about that. This might not be my favorite film from director Christopher Nolan. However, I agree that it’s beautifully made and destined to be a cinematic classic. The shots look amazing and the storytelling is uniquely awesome!

The story follows (or does it?) Leonard, a cop on a mission to find his wife’s killer. It’s a tall order, though, as he suffers from short-term memory loss. Whenever he wakes up the following day, he would forget everything that happened the day before. His solution is to leave clues for himself in the form of tattoos and notes. Guy Pearce delivers a great performance as the policeman with amnesia. Joe Pantoliano also shines as Teddy, Leonard’s partner. At the onset, the film makes you doubt whether Teddy is a good guy or not. It’s one of the things that makes Memento interesting. Natalie, played by Carrie-Anne Moss, is just icing on the cake. Her character helps Leonard with his quest while he assists her with her own ‘case’.

If you’re a fan of thrillers and detective stories, this movie will blow you away. But please don’t watch it at the end of a tiring day from work as it requires a good amount of thinking for you to appreciate it. I made this review spoiler-free because I believe knowing what’s going to happen takes away so much from the experience. If you haven’t seen it, I highly suggest that you do when you have the time. If you have seen it, you know what I’m talking about.

Overall, I am giving Memento 4.5 out of 5 stars. Yes, it’s that good! The re-watchability is my main caveat but I’m glad I got to watch this movie.

Leave a Reply

